My Best Books of 2012

These are the books that I loved in 2012.  Not all of these books were published in 2012.  They are posted in order of the most loved to the least loved.  I shouldn’t pick favorites, but I did.  Harsh, I know.

  1. The Fault in Our Stars by John Green The Fault in Our Stars
    I shouldn’t have to say anything about this book.  I am sure everyone has heard it over and over.  So, you should be rushing out to buy your copy, but here are my two cents on The Fault in Our Stars.  I read two other books by John Green and I liked them, but they were not even close to this book.  The Fault in Our Stars ripped at my heart like no other book I read this year.  It was sweet and left a lasting impression after I put the book down.   
  2.  Dark Places by Gillian Flynn      Dark Places  So much attention is on her current novel Gone Girl.  Except I didn’t love Gone Girl like I did Dark Places.  This book is a dark book.  It IS right in the title.  It is about a family that is murdered and those family members that survive.  One was a young girl who testifies against her brother, the other the brother who has been in prison for years.  Had a few twists and turns.  Overall I really enjoyed this well written book.
  3. The Glass Castle by Jeanette Walls  The Glass Castle
    A dysfunctional memoir of a family, but really interesting and well done.  Why didn’t I pick this one up sooner.
  4. One Good Dog by Susan WilsonOne Good Dog
    This book I bought by accident while trying to buy One For the Money.  I don’t know what I was thinking.  I am happy I made that mistake.  This book turned out to be such a gem.  Told from the perspective of a man and a dog (alternating with each chapter).  It was a great book.
  5.  Delirium and Pandemonium by Lauren Oliver Delirium (Delirium, #1)  Pandemonium (Delirium, #2)
    A good dystopian series.  Left me wanting more and I can’t wait for the next one.
  6. If I Stay and Where She Went by Gayle Forman If I Stay (If I Stay, #1) Where She Went (If I Stay, #2)
    These books deal with some heavy issues.  I loved the first book and I didn’t think I could love the second one as much.  I was wrong the second one was just as good, if not better, than the first book.  I like that Gayle Forman flipped it and told the second book more from the male perspective.
  7. The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer...
    The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer is so interesting and I wanted to know what was happening to Mara.  She was a great young adult character.  I always know I have enjoyed a book when I want the second one right away and this is definitely one of those books.
  8. Room by Emma Donoghue Room
    The book was actually published in 2010, but I don’t remember it.  I am sorry I missed it until now.  This is told from the perspective of a five year old boy.  The story is compelling and very interesting.  Why is this mom and son stuck in the room?  It had a few hiccups in how the boy spoke, but it only took a small portion from an interesting story.
  9. Beauty Queens by Libba Bray  Beauty Queens
    I don’t know if this book translates as well in written form as it did in the audio book.  The audio book is quite good.  The author does the reading and it really made the book for me.  Beauty Queens is an entertaining and lighthearted book.
  10. The Mediator by Meg Cabot Shadowland (The Mediator, #1)
    Fun, quick, and light read.  The perfect book to get out of reading slump.
  11.  Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo Shadow and Bone (The Grisha...
    I was torn at whether or not to include this book.  It is a 2012 debut novel.  I wasn’t totally riveted throughout the whole book, but it held my attention.  The reason why it was nudged onto the list, was the fact that it was set up nicely for the upcoming sequel.   I can’t wait to see where they go with the story.  I will be reading the next one!

What did you love reading in 2012?  Any surprises?

Here are a few other favorites:

tv shows: Once Upon A Time, Parks and Recreation, The Mindy Project, Nashville, The Middle, Modern Family, and The Voice

movies: 50/50, Salmon Fishing in the Yemen, The Hunger Games, and Best Exotic Marigold Hotel

Leave a Reply

