Review: Shadows (Ashes Trilogy Book #2)

Image

Shadows picks up right after Ashes left off.  I will not tell you the premise of Shadows, but will recap what Ashes is about.  Ashes begins with Alex hiking in the woods to say goodbye to her parents (she is carrying their ashes).  There is an electromagnetic pulse and then everything changes.  If you are not killed you are either changed (a zombie) or a survivor.

The biggest gripe I have about Shadows is that you better remember who and what happened in Ashes.  Shadows has a huge cast of characters and about 150-200 pages into the book I was just remembering all the characters.  I wish I would have re-read some of Ashes or waited to read until I got my hands on this book.  It was frustrating having to figure out what in the world was going on.

That being said, once I got into the book it really picked up pace.  The book has a few storylines happening at once, but each one is interesting.  None of the storylines connect, or so it seems.  Once we get to the end of the book, oh man, Ilsa J Bick weaves the storylines together so beautifully.  I was so impressed with how the story ended.  It ended on a cliffhanger and made me sooo excited for the next book in the series.

I also want to point out that this book is graphic, but seriously folks it is about zombies.  If you don’t like gory details then I don’t recommend this book.

My suggestion is to wait until all three books are out and read them around the same time.  If you can’t, be prepared to re-read, or suffer not knowing what is happening.

I want very badly to give this book 5 stars, but I can’t.  The fact that it took me almost 200 pages to settle in really dragged it down.

For that reason, I gave this book 4 out of 5 stars.

One thought on “Review: Shadows (Ashes Trilogy Book #2)

Leave a Reply

