Top Ten Characters in “Chick Lit”


Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

This week is looking at our favorite characters in whatever genre we choose.  I had a hard time choosing which genre I would make the list of, but I knew I had to do “Chick Lit” or women’s fiction.  I think it gets a bad rap and I wanted to list off some of the great characters in the genre.  They are in no particular order.

Image

 Minerva Dobbs in Bet Me

“That was Disney, honey,’ Min said. ‘It wasn’t a documentary.”

Minerva is sassy and makes this light, romantic read a fun one.

Bet Me

The Time Travelers Wife

Henry Detamble in The Time Traveler’s Wife

“It’s hard being left behind. (…) It’s hard to be the one who stays.”

Sure Clare was the one who thought she had it tough.  Except I think Henry had it tougher.  He was a time traveler and would just time travel at anytime.  I don’t know how he was actually able to hold down a job and the fact that he would land wherever naked.  Oh my.  That alone lands Henry a spot on my list.

Time Traveler’s Wife

 

Twins of Tribeca

 

   Karen Jacobs in The Twins of Tribeca

Karen is how I wished the character in Devil Wears Prada would have acted.

 

Twins of Tribeca

 

The Host

Melanie Stryder/Wanderer in The Host

   “Body and soul. Two different things”

Is the Host Chick Lit?  I don’t know, but I wanted these “two” characters on this list.  I also cheated a little by including two characters, but really they share the same body, so it is ok.  Melanie is a strong character and so is Wanderer, both for very different reasons.

The Host

 

Dr. K  in Good In Bed

“Well, you can’t control what they do, but you can control how you respond to it…whether you allow it to drive you crazy, or Good in bedoccupy all of your thoughts, or whether you note what they’re doing, consider it, and make a conscious decision as to how much you’ll let it affect you”   

Cannie might be the main character, but Dr. K is the star.

Good in Bed

 

 

salem falls

  Jack St. Bride in Salem Falls     

   “Words are like eggs dropped from great heights; you can no more call them back than ignore the mess they leave when they fall.”    

Jack is a very complex, quiet, and compelling character.  I find him very interesting, especially considering the hand he has been dealt in life.

 

Salem Falls

 

Bailey Weggins in If Looks Could Kill, A Body to Die For, Til Death Do Us PArt, Over Her Dead Body, Leathly Blonde,If looks could killand So Pretty It Hurts

I didn’t enjoy If Looks Could Kill, but I stuck with the series.  I am glad I did.  Bailey is like that friend you haven’t seen in a long while.  You meet up over the weekend and pick up right where you left off.  Oh, and solve a fluffy murder mystery.

 

Bailey Weggins

 

 

twenties girl           Sadie in Twenties Girl          

 

When I was your age, if a boy behaved badly, one simply scored his name out from one’s dance card.”

 Sadie is a ghost, but she is a ghost with some real spunk.  She is described as ” a feisty, demanding girl with firm ideas about fashion, love, and the right way to dance”.  Sometimes you need a little Sadie in your life, saying crazy things and pushing you to do things you might not want to.

Twenties Girl

 

 

Anna in My Sister’s Keeper

My Sisters Keeper  “Maybe who we are isn’t so much about what we do, but rather what we’re capable of when we least expect it.”    

 

Anna is brave in ways I can’t imagine at her age.

 

My Sister’s Keeper

 

 

Confessions of a ShopaholicSuze in Confessions of a Shopaholic

“Rule of life. If you bother to ask someone’s advice, then bother to listen to it.”

Suze tries to be the voice of reason.  She is calm, responsible, and adorable.  Everything Becky Bloomwood wishes she could be.  I will forever block out the movie version of Suze.  She is a wonderful character in the books.

Confessions of a Shopaholic

 

9 thoughts on “Top Ten Characters in “Chick Lit”

    • I was thinking the same thing while I was making the list. I read very few Chick Lit books last year. I saw a few Chick Lits coming out this year, so may have to grab them up.

Leave a Reply

