Top Ten Books I Recommend the Most

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by the Broke and the Bookish. Go check them out.

This Tuesday we are looking at the books we recommend the most.  I am going to try and talk about different kinds of books that I recommend the most.  I try to recommend books that I think people will enjoy. I really think about the person I am recommending the book to and what books they previously liked. For that reason, these are more general recommendations.

Top books I recommend for kids

ImageImage

1. The Napping House by Audrey Wood and Don Wood

When I read books to kids in class, I look for something that holds their attention.  The Napping House is one of them.  They love the repetition, illustrations, and the humor.

2. Holes by Louis Sachar

This is such a good book.  I really think it can appeal to boys and girls.  The story is an interesting one.  I also like books that have movie adaptations for young kids.  It is fun to be able to read through a book and then watch it come to life on screen.  Holes is a wonderful book and has a equally wonderful movie made from it.

Top books I recommend for teens

ImageImage

3. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

I taught in a remote village last year.  The kids that were in the school I was at were uninterested in most things school related.  The high school reading teacher choose The Hunger Games trilogy as a reading assignment.  I was blown away with how much they loved this series.  I know it’s great, I love the series, but it cinched it for me when these kids that didn’t like much, loved these books.

4. The Host by Stephenie Meyer

I know I have put the Host in one of my lists before, but I just can’t help myself.  I feel like most people would like this book.  I especially think teens would enjoy this book.  Plus, it seems like it would good for boys and girls.

Books I recommend for non-fiction readers

ImageImage

5. The Glass Castle by Jeanette Walls

I was blown away when I read this book.  It wasn’t because I didn’t know that families like this exist, because I do.  It had more to do with the fact of being immersed in what some kids have to go through growing up.  I also love the fact that it highlights how the siblings stuck together and how you can create something great out of a not so great situation.

6. How To Talk So Kids Can Learn by Adele Faber and Elaine Mazlish

This is an excellent book for those of us that have some interaction with kids.  Whether they are your own kids or other kids, this one is full of helpful suggestions.  I really benefited from the fact that they had examples of how to put the suggestions to use.  I was amazed when I tried a few of the suggestions.  In one case, the results I had were almost instant.  This one is a must recommendation if you have kids in your life.

Books I recommend for a Classic

ImageImage

7. A Tree Grows in Brooklyn by Betty Smith

This is a classic that I feel has mass appeal.  I can see a wide range of people enjoying this book.  This is my go to recommendation when asked about a classic. This is partly because I haven’t read that many classics and partly because it is so well written.  It is a great example of how children love their parents and parents love their children in the best way they know how.  If you have read The Glass Castle and loved it, you MUST read A Tree Grows in Brooklyn.

8. The Jungle by Upton Sinclair

I was assigned this book in a college course and was really struck by how much I enjoyed it (I did not think I was going to).   This is the story of an immigrant family trying to make it in Chicago in the early 1900’s.  It does have some graphic scenes set in a meatpacking plant.  If you are someone sensitive to that, be warned.  However, it is very well written and I found it relevant.  This is one book I think people should give a shot.

Books I recommend to read next

ImageImage

9. The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time by Mark Haddon

This book reads from the point of view of an autistic teenager.  It is a family story that is light on the mystery.  It is an insteresting read and is well written.  It is creative and was a nice step outside of what I was use to reading.  I would recommend it for someone who is looking for something different.

10. A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini

This one is also like The Host.  I think this is one of the books I recommend the most.  It is hard to be impartial, because I love this book.  If you haven’t read it yet, you should pick it up.

What books do you recommend the most?

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Books I Recommend the Most

  1. tinalinatime says:

    I recommend The Hunger Games pretty frequently to friends. My students ” get it” and they all want that book but my friends
    Haven’t all “gotten it” yet! 🙂

Leave a Reply

