Review: Walking Disaster

walking disasterFinally, the highly anticipated follow-up to the New York Times bestseller Beautiful Disaster. Can you love someone too much?
Travis Maddox learned two things from his mother before she died: Love hard. Fight harder.

In Walking Disaster, the life of Travis is full of fast women, underground gambling, and violence. But just when he thinks he is invincible, Abby Abernathy brings him to his knees.

Every story has two sides. In Beautiful Disaster, Abby had her say. Now it’s time to see the story through Travis’s eyes.

Let me start this review by saying I should have known not to read this book.  I had mixed feelings on Beautiful Disaster, the companion novel to Walking Disaster.  This book is told from the perspective of “Mad Dog” Travis and the love story that develops with Abby Abernathy.  I had mixed feelings about the book Beautiful Disaster and it turns out I was curious about how the companion novel was going to be.
I know people hated Travis in Beautiful Disaster, but I didn’t feel that way.  Both main characters annoyed me, but I didn’t hate them.  Well I found them even more annoying in Walking Disaster.  I felt like Travis was a hypocrite.  He would say he respected women and then say something so disrespectful afterwards.  I thought he lacked respect for all women, including Abby.  I had to skim read a bunch of the story, because it would just reiterate the same things that happened in the other book.   I don’t think it added anything new and exciting to the story.  Nor did it answer any nagging questions that I had about the characters actions.

I also found the end to be too convenient.  The epilogue was strange and I felt like it didn’t fit the characters.   I know people who loved the story will probably disagree.

I would recommend reading Beautiful Disaster, if you are interested in either or these book.  If you loved that one, then you will probably like this one.  If you didn’t like it or had mixed feelings about Beautiful Disaster,  I would stay away from Walking Disaster.

I give this book 1.5 to 2 out of 5 stars.

2 thoughts on “Review: Walking Disaster

Leave a Reply

