Top Ten Books That Made Me Think

This week, over on the Broke and the Bookish, top ten Tuesday is a rewind.  We get to pick a topic we haven’t done or one we want to revisit.  I wanted to do a few of the lists, but the one I chose was the top books that made me think.   I am not including school books, which should make you think.  Instead I am picking  the books that surprised me in how much they made me think.

tenth circleThe Tenth Circle by Jodi Picoult

I read this book last year as I was out in remote Alaska teaching.  The book only has a little bit about Native Alaska, but it made me think about it.

Did Jodi Picoult travel to learn about this?  If she did, what did she think about it?

a child called It

A Child Called It by Dave Pelzer

As a teacher this made me really think.  How in the world can this happen?  How do I, as a teacher, recognize the children that this is happening to?

beautiful disaster

Beautiful Disaster by Jamie McGuire

I was on the fence about this book.  However, it did make me think.  Why do women really like this type of guy?  Why are women drawn to people who are bad for us?  Why did I find this so readable?

animal vegetable miracle

Animal, Vegetable, Miracle by Barbara Kingsolver

This book really made me think about how we can change how we get our food.  How much of a change could we make if we buy or grow locally?  I really think twice about where I get my food from.

if i stay

If I Stay by Gayle Forman

This book was so good, but it also makes you think.  What would I do in Mia’s situation?

Memory Keeper's Daughter

The Memory Keeper’s Daughter by Kim Edwards

I didn’t realize that people with Down’s Syndrome were institutionalized in the 60’s.  I have met some kids with Down’s Syndrome and they tend to be some of the happiest, sweetest kids I have ever met.  After reading this book I wondered, what would it have been like to have been born with Down’s Syndrome in the 60’s?  It also made me think what does it do to you to keep a huge secret?

Discipline with Dignity

Discipline with Dignity

This book made me think about how to effectively show how we behave in a classroom.  It also made me think about how we can give mixed signals to kids.  How can we make the classroom a better environment?

columbine

Columbine by Dave Cullen

This is another that had me thinking as a teacher.  The book takes a look, in-depth, at the two boys responsible for the Columbine shooting.  How can we make sure all of our students are being taken care?

rape of nankin

The Rape of Nanking by Iris Chang

I had no idea this happened.  It was such an eye opener when I read it.  How could such atrocities happen?

omnivores dilemaThe Omnivore’s Dilemma by Michael Pollan

This book made me think about the things I eat.  It literally changed the way I eat.  How much do we know about the food industry?  What can we do about as consumers?

What are books that made you think?

7 thoughts on “Top Ten Books That Made Me Think

  1. I have to agree with you about Beautiful Disaster – even though I KNEW the relationship was co-dependent and unhealthy, I still sped through the book and actually enjoyed it. Hmm. :/

  2. The treament of those with mental and physological disorders was so different in the 60s; you see it in A Beautiful Mind and One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest as well where they used lobotomy, thinking scrambling one’s brain would cure them. So sad.

Leave a Reply

