Review: Requiem by Lauren Oliver

requiem

Requiem by Lauren Oliver is the sequel to the books Delirium and Pandemonium.   Both of those books I have enjoyed very much.   The anticipation was quite high for the final book in the series.

Here is the synopsis for Requiem.  If you have not read the first two books, I can not guarantee that this does not contain spoilers.

I repeat DO NOT go any further if you don’t want to see any spoilers.

They have tried to squeeze us out, to stamp us into the past.

But we are still here.

And there are more of us every day.

Now an active member of the resistance, Lena has been transformed. The nascent rebellion that was under way in Pandemonium has ignited into an all-out revolution in Requiem, and Lena is at the center of the fight.

Pandemonium left off on such a cliffhanger.  The knowledge that both Alex and Lena’s mother are still alive.  When the book begins I kept thinking, “what happened to her mother”.  They don’t touch on that at all after the big reveal.  I began thinking maybe that is not what I read in the end of the last book.  Other than that the book goes along at the same pace as the other two books.  The big difference is that we are going back and forth between two perspectives.  One chapter is devoted to Hana and the other to Lena.

I enjoyed the back and forth, but I have never had a problem with that in books.  I felt like it gave insight into both “worlds” in the Delirium realm.  In fact, I was quite glad that I finally was able to go deeper into the world of Hana.  Sidenote, there are three short stories that are companions to this series, but I have not read them.  I also enjoyed being able to see a full scope of the wilds and the people that are rebelling.

That brings me to the love story, or love triangle (or square depending on how you look at it).  This is one of the rare times when I was rooting for both guys.  I guess that means I was Team Lena, if I was a team anything.  I was ok with whichever way she chose to go.  Throughout the story I jockeyed back and forth between the two guys.  I guess that is not a bad place to be in, no matter who you chose, they are awesome.

I won’t give away the ending, but I know some people did not like the way that Lauren Oliver chose to take the story.  I really liked it.  I felt like it was really well done.

If you have read the other two books, then you must pick up Requiem.  If you haven’t read this series yet, well why did you keep reading this, sheesh don’t you care about spoilers.  Oh and what are you waiting for!

I would give this book 4 1/2 out of 5 stars.

Leave a Reply

