Review: Someday, Someday Maybe by Lauren Graham

someday, someday maybe

Someday, Someday Maybe by Lauren Graham

Franny Banks is a struggling actress in New York City, with just six months left of the three-year deadline she gave herself to succeed. But so far, all she has to show for her efforts is a single line in an ad for ugly Christmas sweaters and a degrading waitressing job. She lives in Brooklyn with two roommates-Jane, her best friend from college, and Dan, a sci-fi writer, who is very definitely not boyfriend material-and is struggling with her feelings for a suspiciously charming guy in her acting class, all while trying to find a hair-product cocktail that actually works.

Meanwhile, she dreams of doing “important” work, but only ever seems to get auditions for dishwashing liquid and peanut butter commercials. It’s hard to tell if she’ll run out of time or money first, but either way, failure would mean facing the fact that she has absolutely no skills to make it in the real world. Her father wants her to come home and teach, her agent won’t call her back, and her classmate Penelope, who seems supportive, might just turn out to be her toughest competition yet. 

I didn’t know what to expect going into a book by Lauren Graham.  She is very funny and witty in her interviews, but would that translate as a writer.  The book is a light read and I found myself wanting to keep reading.  I loved the voice of Franny and the time period of the middle 90’s.   I feel like I would have passed right over that time period.  Once I started reading the novel, I thought the time period is perfect.  It was brilliant.

I don’t know what it would be like to pursue a career in acting.  I think if you are interested in what it would be like, this novel does a really great job of putting you in that position.

I could see a critique of the novel to be that it is predictable.  I don’t know about anyone else, sometimes a little bit of predictability is not bad.  As a reader, I don’t always want to be on the edge of my seat.  This book was like sitting back on your couch with your favorite drink and a movie you love.  You may know what is coming next, but you are loving every minute of it.

I really enjoyed the voice of each character.   I felt that they were distinctly their own and true to how the characters were portrayed.  The ending seemed to fit well.  It left the book with some closure, but open-ended enough to even have a sequel.  There are actually a few ways Lauren Graham could continue with this and make it a series.  She definitely has a great writing voice and I look forward to whatever she writes next.  If you are fond of Lauren Graham, women’s literature, light, or fun reads pick this one up.

I give this book 4 out of 5 stars.

Someday, Someday Maybe is set to be published April 30th 2013.

One thought on “Review: Someday, Someday Maybe by Lauren Graham

  1. This isn’t the first review I’ve seen of this book, and I’m definitely adding it to my TBR. But I especially like this: “You may know what is coming next, but you are loving every minute of it.” That really is the mark of a great book (or one of them, anyway). I read a lot of thrillers so I’m used to being caught off guard with plot twists, and typically in a thriller if you know what’s coming it’s not considered a good thing. But you know… not everything HAS to be a surprise if it’s done well.

Leave a Reply

