Top Ten Books With Travel

This weeks top ten Tuesday, hosted by the Broke and the Bookish,  is books that have to do with travel.  I love books that have to do with travel.  When I started reading through my books, I noticed quite few had some sort of travel.  So here is my list.

statistical probability ready player one just one dayfault in our stars long way from chicago pandemonium amy and rogers alchemist shopaholic takes manhattanswapping lives

The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight by Jennifer E Smith  I didn’t really love this book like a lot of people did.  However, what I did love was the fact that the book takes place in an airport, on a airplane, and in London.  All of those things are great in my book.  I would love to read more fiction books that have plane travel.

Ready Player One by Ernest Cline This book is really great.  Plus, it fits the travel requirement in two ways.  Not only does the main character travel in real-time to a few different places, he also travels virtually a lot.

Just One Day by Gayle Forman  I thought including another book that travels to Paris, but this one edged that one out.  I love the fact that it includes travel to a few different places.  This would make a really great summer read.

The Fault in Our Stars by John Green This book is great on its own, but add the fact that the two main character travel to Amsterdam, bumps it up in my opinion.  If you haven’t read this book yet, you must.

A Long Way From Chicago by Richard Peck This is a middle grade or even a children’s book, but it is really good.  It has the two main characters, Joey and Mary Alice, traveling to a small town in Illinois to spend the summer with their grandmother.  She is not a typical grandmother and craziness ensues.

Pandemonium by Lauren Oliver I know this is a second book in the series.  So, that means you can’t really pick this one up unless you have read Delirium.  However, I love the fact that this book has Lena traveling  through the Wilds and into New York City.

Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson This is a wonderful book to read in the summer.  It is a road trip book, but isn’t just light, fluff.  It has real heart.  In fact, I am a bit jealous that some of you guys get to read this one in the summer.  Lucky!

The Alchemist by Paulo Coehlo After you have exhausted yourself by reading so many light reads this summer, pick up this book.  It has Santiago traveling across the Egyptian desert and all of his adventures (lessons) along the way.

Shopaholic Takes Manhattan by Sophie Kinsella This is also a second book in the series.  It is one of the best, in my opinion.  Becky Bloomwood takes off on an adventure to Manhattan and of course gets in to all sort of predicaments.  I loved the characters in this one.

Swapping Lives by Jane Green The two main characters, Vicky and Amber, swap lives.  One is a single girl living in London and the other is a mother living in Connecticut.  The book isn’t anything really serious, but if you want something a little light then this would be good.

Plus a bonus travel book.

shadow and bone

Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo

What are your favorite books that have to do with travel?

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Books With Travel

  1. megan says:

    I love you list! I haven’t read all of them, but I love (and added to my list) Ready Player One. I also enjoyed Just One Day and Amy & Roger is one of my favorite road trip books. I am probably the only person around who did not love TFIOS. That one was not for me. But I did appreciate the Amsterdam parts.

Leave a Reply

