Top Ten Beach Reads

This week for top ten Tuesday we are talking about beach reads.  When I think of beach reads, I think  of a light book that is fast paced.  It can have some depth, but can’t be heavy.  No one wants to be sobbing at the beach.  We just did light reads a few weeks ago, so I tried to pick books that were different from those.

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by the Broke and the Bookish.  Go check them out.

Image

The Bachelor by Carly Phillips

If you want something pure romance driven,then check this one out.

ImageIs Everyone Hanging Out Without Me by Mindy Kaling

In the mood for a little non-fiction humor, then pick this one up.

ImageOne for the Money by Janet Evanovich

Check this one out if you are in the mood for some fast paced action and a spunky chic

ImageAnna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

This is your book if you want a sweet romance set in Paris.

ImageLove @ First Site by Jane Moore

This is a contemporary romance of a thirtysomething that is signed up for a dating site, by her friends.

ImageCinder by Marissa Meyer

This story has a strong female protagonist.  The story is very engrossing and fast paced.  If you are looking for some sci-fi on the beach, then this is the book for you.

ImageThe Selection by Kiera Cass

Thirty five girls competing bachelor style for a handsome prince.  I am pretty sure this book was meant to be read with a cold, frothy drink in your hand and the beach in your sight.

ImageJust Listen by Sarah Dessen

A sweet contemporary book with a lot of depth.  This was my first Sarah Dessen book, but it won’t be my last.  In fact, I may have to grab one to read pool side and soon.

ImageSize 12 Is Not Fat by Meg Cabot

A sassy, spunky former pop idol that takes on a murder mystery.  This would be a great beach read.

ImageAgnes and the Hitman by Jennifer Crusie

I often think of books set in the south when I think of beach reads.  This one is a great fit.  Not only is set in the south it has action, a mob wedding, some romance, and a dog named Rhett.

What are some of your favorite beach reads.  Do you tend to go for light reads or more fast paced, action packed for the beach?  Or do you reach for something totally different?  Let me know in the comments below.

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Beach Reads

  1. The Selection and Cinder would both make great beach reads! I actually just read whatever I wanted to read next whenever I head to the beach or pool, so it can end up being anything!

    • I have to agree. I tend to just take what is next on my to read list. However, if it something that I know will be tough to read, I don’t bring it. Other than that I just grab and go.

Leave a Reply

