Series I Won’t Finish

Do you ever start a new series and just know this series is for you?  You know that you will continue on and you look forward to what is next for the characters.  Then you start some series and for some reason you just don’t go on with it.  They fall flat or aren’t for you.  Well that is what this post is all about.

Here are the series I have started, but won’t finish.

 

 

Darkly Dreaming Dexter by Jeff Lindsay

Don’t get me wrong, I actually enjoy the show Dexter, but the book did not do it for me.  I watched the show first, so maybe that had something to do with.  Dexter is the story of a serial killer who hunts murderers.  That is a heavy subject matter.  I find, in the show, Dexter has such heart and you really root for him.  That could be a credit to Michael C Hall and his portral of Dexter, which I believe it is.  This one I just didn’t connect with the character like I did on the show.

 

 

 

Matched by Ally Condie

Matched should be for me.  I have really enjoyed the dystopian stories I have read.  A few of the those types of series I have loved.  I was excited to read this book.  A book where you are matched with your one true soul mate, but this goes off wrong for the Cassia and she is matched with two guys.  I liked the setting and I also liked the characters.  I was intrigued with what was going to happen to our main character and who she is going to choose.  So what went wrong?  Well, I just didn’t really like the writing.  I thought the book dragged on in some places.  It just wasn’t for me.  Then I heard so many mixed reviews on the last two books in the series and it scared me off of reading them.  Then a few months ago I did something I, almost, never do.  I looked up a spoiler review of the last book.  I think it is safe to say I won’t be reading the last books.

Side note:  I do have to say Matched has one gorgeous cover.

 

 

 

 

Dead Until Dark by Charlaine Harris

I really wanted to like Dead Until Dark.  It is set in Louisiana and that is always a win for me.  Plus, I loved the premise of a girl who could read minds.  Especially one who is trying to solve a mystery.  Something just did not work for me in the book.  I liked Sam and the grandmother, but I found the voice of Sookie to be a bit annoying.  Also, the dialogue between Sookie and Bill strange.  Anyways, it just was not for me.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Pride and Prejudice and Zombies by Seth Grahme Smith

Let me start by saying that I have never read Pride and Prejudice.  However, I know the story.  Who doesn’t?  We have Colin Firth and Kiera Knightly to thank for that.  I saw this book cover and was so intrigued by it.  Zombies are creepy and I had to know what was going to happen.  I bought the book, brought it home, and started reading it.  I knew right away this book was not for me.  The thing is it starts just like Pride and Prejudice would and then some zombies would attack, keep going and repeat zombie attack.  It wasn’t anything new or different.  It was just taking the story and insert zombie attack periodically.  Or that is how the beginning of the book was.  I don’t know about the rest of the book, since I promptly set it down and will not pick it back up.

 

 

 

L.A. Candy by Lauren Conrad

Years ago I watched the show The Hills.  I decided to watch it one summer since it was free, the whole series, on MTV.com.  In my defense I had my cable turned off since I was going to be moving in a few weeks.  I enjoyed Lauren Conrad on the show and when I heard about the book, I was curious.  I didn’t hate the book, but I didn’t really enjoy it either.  I found it really predictable and since I already watched the show, I felt like I could guess how the next few books would go.  I realized it wasn’t for me.  If you loved the Hills, I could see how you would love this series.

 

 

 

What series have you given up on?   Why did you throw in the towel?

 

 

8 thoughts on “Series I Won’t Finish

  1. I can’t think of any series off hand that I have given up on. I loved Matched a lot but was disappointed with the next two books like many others. I think I would recommend the series for some teenagers, but not so much for those in their twenties reading YA, because a lot of the “dystopia” elements fall flat in the third book. I’m curious if your spoiler for the series had to do with which guy she ended up with; I was not happy with the way that was handled!

    • I think it would be a great series for teenagers. The spoiler did have to do with who she ended up with in the end. Except I just found out who she ended up with, and not the specifics on how she ended up with that person. I didn’t really feel strongly one way or the other about who she ended up with. I am sure it would be different if I continued on with the series.

      • I preferred the guy she did not end up with, but I might could have lived with it if they had handled it better. I guess so we don’t feel too sorry for him, they kind of suddenly stick him with another girl and it just felt off to me.

  2. Interesting comments on Dexter. I haven’t read the books at all but like the show. You’re right about Michael C Hall – it’s impossible not to have empathy for the character in spite of the fact he has virtually none himself! Michael was also excellent in Six Feet Under.

Leave a Reply

