Book Signing

“I love book signings: kids waiting in line for you to scribble on their new books, haha!” 
― Brian Jacques

 

I can honestly say I have never been to a book signing.  Image I haven’t made the effort to really search out authors to go to book signings and there aren’t really that many around the area I am living in right now.  That all changed a few weeks ago.

I was running some errands and waiting to meet a friend for lunch.  I had time to kill and needed to use the bathroom.  I believe there is no better place to stop than a bookstore.  I was right by the local Barnes and Noble and I ran in.  

As soon as I walked in I noticed an author getting ready for a book signing.  No one else was really around or paying attention.  It was Eowyn Ivey the author of The Snow Child.

Image

Eowyn Ivey and me

 I have had this book on my radar, but hadn’t had a chance to check it out yet.  I have to say I was really excited to meet her and hear more about her book.  She was so delightful.  She signed a copy for me.  I am really looking forward to reading it in the fall or winter.

 

Have you read The Snow Child?  What are some of your favorite book signing moments?

 

11 thoughts on “Book Signing

  1. EDWIN EICHELBERGER says:

    Oh. That’s awesome. I will have to put this book on my reminder list.

    ________________________________

  2. I have neither read this book nor attended a book signing but that is so neat! I’m sure she was happy to meet someone interested in her work, even if you had not read her book yet!

  3. Ah that’s great how you just “ran into” a book signing. I’ve actually only done one book signing so far which was with Cassandra Clare and as an additional bonus author Maureen Johnson was there too, so I got my books signed from them. It’s great to hear a bit more about books from the authors themselves.

    • It was a happy accident. My sister would love a book signing with Cassandra Clare! I haven’t read any book from Maureen Johnson, but I have heard great things. It does make a difference when you feel like you have a personal connection.

Leave a Reply

