Review: Scattershot by Richard Goodwin

ImageTitle: Scattershot

Author: Richard Goodwin

Publisher: Seedpod Publishing

Published: May 30th 2011

Series: no

Source: purchased/ e-book

The Story

Wicker is a twenty-three year old man and he is lost.  He is homeless and desperate to get his things out of storage, mostly his mother’s ashes.  He has the idea of hitchhiking to Las Vegas to win it big.  On his journey he runs into Edna.  Edna is trying to make her way to the beach, but has made a wrong turn.  She is hoping to find some solace away from her son, who is convinced she is losing it in her old age.  The two go on an unbelievable journey, taking Edna’s son with them.

My Thoughts

I really enjoyed this book. The dialogue was rich and clear.  I felt like each character had their own voice.  The two main characters, Edna and Wicker, are fun characters.  I do have to say they do make some stupid mistakes, but that is part of the fun in this book.   I really liked the character of Edna.  She is the voice of reason that is needed in this book.   The character of Wicker is rough around the edges, but you get the sense that he is (underneath) a decent guy.

This is a dark comedy.  I do have to give a warning, if you are offended by language or graphic scenes you probably won’t enjoy this book.

 I am conflicted on my rating.  The book was very enjoyable, and then halfway through something happens.  I can’t say what, because that would spoil it, but something that made me want to say “wait, what now”.  I kept waiting for the thing that was happening to end or it to be a misunderstanding, but it doesn’t happen.   Also, the ending I kept thinking what is happening.  It was a page turner.  I really wanted to know what happened.  Then I finished the book and was very conflicted.  I would give this one 3 1/2 stars.  I definitely urge to pick it up, give it a try, and make up your own mind on this one.

ImageImageImage  1/2

2 thoughts on “Review: Scattershot by Richard Goodwin

Leave a Reply

