Review: Covet by Tracey Garvis-Graves

covetTitle: Covet

Author: Tracey-Garvis Graves

Publisher: Dutton Adult

Published: (scheduled) September 17th, 2013

Series: no

Source: review copy/Netgalley

 

The Story

Claire Canton is married to Chris.  There marriage was good, until Chris was downsized and everything changed.  After a long time unemployed, Chris is offered a job far away from home.    He ends up traveling a lot.  Claire is lonely.  She finds solace in a friendship she forms with a police officer, Daniel Rush.

 

My Thoughts

Just like her other book, I wasn’t quite sure how I would feel about this subject matter.  I have to say Tracey Garvis-Graves writes excellent characters.  I felt like all of the characters, major and minor, are well written and thought out.  The secondary characters live their own lives.  They aren’t just written as a side note to the main characters.  I really enjoyed their stories.   I could see all side of the story.  I loved the way the story was handled.

There are points in the story where you want to scream at the main characters.  At least I thought that, and times when you feel for each of them.  That is a sign of a good writer.

I also want  to take a point to talk about the book cover.  So, so gorgeous.

The biggest hiccup with this book is it deals with real subject matter.  A lot of the book is talking about the drama of real life.  It touches on marriage problems, money matters, drinking, and more.  Some people might think that it drags on.  I did feel like something was missing.  Although I think that may have more to do with how much I really liked On The Island and less to do with this story.  I had really high expectations.  That being said I would definitely recommend this book.

I would give it:

bookmark bookmark bookmarkbookmark

Leave a Reply

