The Old Me and the New Me, As A Reader

This is a topic I have been thinking about for quite some time.  Recently I read a post on Book Rock Betty, No One Knows A Good Book Like YOU Do, about how we choose the books we choose.    I started thinking about this recently when I looked at my to be read list.  It is long and then I add-on all the books I have picked on Netgalley.  I also have all the books I need to finish for my challenges, sigh!

The old me, as a reader, use to just pick up whatever book I wanted.  Here are the highlights.

  • I rarely read new releases and most times had no idea about when books were coming out.
  • Most times it took me a few years to get around to a “new” release.
  • I read a lot of chick lit and got stuck in a certain genre.
  • I would buy a book and read it pretty soon afterwards.  I never bought books and had them unread for a long time.
  • I would go to the library and just browse for whatever jumped off to me from the shelf.
  • I never looked at reviews or discounted a book based on ratings.
  • I relied on friends, librarians, and booksellers if I was stuck on what to read next.
  • I would take breaks from reading and never thought much about it.
  • I didn’t read over 25 books a year.  In fact, I don’t think I even kept track of what I read and how much.

 

The new me, as a reader, is a bit more intense.  Here are the highlights.

  • I have stacks of books that I need to get through.
  • I read through reviews and have let some of them sway me.
  • I feel pressure to get through a lot of books (entirely my own pressure).
  • I listen to hype.
  • I keep up with what books are coming out, what is popular, and what is being turned into movies.
  • I feel the need to get more books, even though I still have so many to read (see the first bullet point).
  • I read all kinds of genres and still haven’t finished some “chick lit” I wanted to read years ago.
  • I think about the fact that I haven’t read very many classics and it kind of bothers me.

 

Sometimes I miss the old me and how I approached reading.  I loved being able to go into a bookstore or library and just pick something. Then actually take it home and read it right away.  No stacks of books or long list of what I have to read.   I was reading for pure pleasure and gave no thought to anything else.  I do still read for pleasure, but now I add-on a lot of other needs/wants I feel like I want to accomplish.  Then I think about the fact that the old me never would have read a lot of the books I have read.  I would have missed out on some fantastic reads.  I would have assumed Young Adult would not have been for me.  I might have thought I was the only over 30 something looking at younger reader books.

Overall I am happy with the new me as a reader.  Every once in a while I long for the old me.

What are somethings that have changed, as a reader, for you?  Do you find it is for the better now or before?

One thought on “The Old Me and the New Me, As A Reader

  1. I definitely approach reading differently than I used to. For the most part, I enjoy my new reading life… never at a loss for something to read, unlike before, when I was reading the same fifteen books I owned over and over again. I also used to watch a lot of TV as my primary form of entertainment, even though I didn’t even care about most of what I was watching. Not to say I don’t occasionally realize I’m doing the same thing with books now — reading more for the sake of reading than because I’m enjoying it — but since I learned to DNF, that’s not so much an issue anymore.

    If there’s anything I miss, it’s not feeling the weight of all the unread books in the world. I don’t feel pressure, per se… just kind of a sadness knowing I can’t read them all.

Leave a Reply

