Top Ten Sequels

I have a love/hate relationship with series.  I really do love getting into a good series.  The problem is a lot (at least in Young Adult) of the books are series.  I feel like I have to invest all this time in so many books, on top of all the other books I want to read.  That being said let’s get on with what the topic is.  This Tuesday is the top ten sequels.

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by the Broke and the Bookish.

 

1. Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins- Book 2  

The Hunger Games series(3 books in the series)

I flew through this series.  Catching Fire is such an amazing book.  It is just as good as the first or it may be even better.

2. Where She Went by Gayle Forman-book 2

If I Stay series (2 books in the series)

I loved this one even more than the first one.  That almost never happens.

3. Siege and Storm by Leigh Bardugo-book 2

The Grisha series (2 books in the series–so far)

I liked the first book in the series enough to continue, but didn’t love it.  I really, really enjoyed the second book in the series.  It added a bit more layers to the story and introduced one of my favorite characters in the whole series.

4. Pandemonium by Lauren Oliver-book 2

Delirium series (3 books in the series)

I love this series and this second book is so good.  The thing I love about this second book is it is distinctly its own.  It works with the story, but stands on its own.

5. Ninth Key by Meg Cabot-book 2

The Mediator series (6 books in the series)

This series was so fun to read.  Most of the books are fast reads.  I didn’t love some of the later books, but this is when the story hits its stride.

6. Evolution of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin-book 2

Mara Dyer series (2 books–so far)

I love this series.  It pulls you in, and the second book is no exception.  The first book left so many questions, and the second book added to it.  I can’t wait to read the last book in this series.

7. Opal by Jennifer Armentrout-book 3

Lux series (4 books–so far)

This isn’t my favorite series, but it is candy coated goodness.  The cliffhanger ending in this one was crazy.

8. Shadows by Ilsa J Bick-book 2

Ashes series (3 books in the series)

This book was hard to get into, but once I did it was a wonderful second book in the series.

9. Shopaholic Takes Manhattan by Sophie Kinsella-book 2

Shopaholic series (6 books in the series–so far)

I loved the new setting and the side characters in this one.  It is my favorite of the series.

10. City of Glass by Cassandra Clare-book 3

The Mortal Instruments Series (5 books in the series–so far)

I have some problems with this series.  To say it is not my favorite is an understatement.  However, I will give credit when it is due!  This is the best book in the series and way better than the first two.

 

What are your favorite sequels?

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Sequels

  1. For me, Catching Fire was definitely the best of the trilogy. Looking at my favorite books, though, there aren’t a lot of sequels. Later books in a series, but #2 is a tricky one. Really the only one that qualifies is Arthur C. Clarke and Stephen Baxter’s Sunstorm, another middle book in a trilogy that’s arguably the best of the three.

    (On another note, I’ve been hearing some great things about that Ashes trilogy… it might be getting bumped up my TBR soon.)

    • I am getting a little burnt out on series. The problem is I want to finish the ones I have started, but still have a few I want to get into. It is a vicious cycle.

      I am reading the last book in the Ashes trilogy right now. I will post my review soon.

Leave a Reply

