Review: Before I Met You by Lisa Jewell

before I met you

Title: Before I Met You

Author: Lisa Jewell

Publisher: Atria Books

Published: October 15, 2013 (orginally published on July 19, 2012 by Century)

Series: no

Source: review copy on Netgalley

The Story

Betty has spent her first years as an adult taking care of her grandmother Arlette.  When Arlette dies she leave an amount in her will to someone that no one has heard of.  Arlette decides to move to London to find the beneficiary, Clara Pickle.  The story flips back and forth between Betty in the 1990’s and Arlette in the 1920’s.  The mystery of Clara Pickle is slowing unfolded as Betty finds clues.

My Thoughts

I tend to really like books that have the back and forth set up.  This book had that.  It also had the fact of two decades I really like, the 20’s and the 90’s.  On top of that the story is set in one of my favorite cities, London.  All of those things made me really excited to read this book.

The voices of Betty and Arlette are very distinctive.  I felt like they were believable for the time period each character was set in.  I loved the spunk of Arlette and the uncertainty of Betty.  The story would hint at something happening through discoveries from Betty.  It would then flip back to Arlette.

The book was really well written.  I wanted to keep reading and find out the mystery, but that wasn’t all.  I also wanted to find out what was going to happen in each of their lives.  I would highly recommend picking this one up.  I am going to see if I can get my hands on some more books by Lisa Jewell.

I give this book bookmark bookmark bookmarkbookmark

2 thoughts on “Review: Before I Met You by Lisa Jewell

Leave a Reply

