Goodbye to All That: Writers on Loving and Leaving New York by Sari Botton

goodbye to all thatTitle: Goodbye to All That: Writers on Loving and Leaving New York

Author: Sari Botton

Publisher: Seal Press

Published: October 8,2013

Pages: 288

Series: no

Source: review copy on Netgalley

 

The Story

This nonfiction book is a compilations of short essays about living and (some) leaving New York City.  Each essay talks about how the writer came to live in New York.  They describe their experiences and the final decision on whether or not to stay in New York City.

 

My Thoughts

I have a great fascination with New York City.  I think a lot of people do.  One of the fascinations is about what it would be like to live there.  I have never lived there and probably never will (due to the high cost of living), but still want to know what it would be like.  This book helps provide a good insight into that.  I enjoyed the fact that some of the people had a great experience, some not so great, and some just down right rocky.  Most of the authors I hadn’t heard of.  However, all were compelling to read.  I found I wanted to read one more essay each night.

I didn’t end up loving all of the essays, but I think that is standard with a compilation book.  Some were graphic and I just couldn’t relate, but most were enjoyable.

If you have a fascination with New York City or have lived there before, definitely check this one out.

 

I gave this book bookmark bookmark bookmarkbookmark

One thought on “Goodbye to All That: Writers on Loving and Leaving New York by Sari Botton

  1. I’ve lived here in NYC all my life and hope to raise my two boys here until they are old enough to make the choice to leave. you should at least come to visit once. I’m looking forward to reading the book.

Leave a Reply

