Review:Boat Girl by Melanie Neale

boat girlTitle: Boat Girl

Author: Melanie Neale

Publisher: Beating Windward Press

Published: October 1st 2012

Pages: 246

Series: no

Source: review copy on Netgalley

The Story

This nonfiction book is the story of Melanie’s childhood, teenage years, and early adult years living aboard a boat.  Melanie’s family lived aboard a book traveling back and forth from the US east coast to the Bahamas.  The story describes the ups and downs of living on a boat.

My Thoughts

I really enjoyed the descriptions that the author described about her life aboard the boat.  I also enjoyed the fact that she described the ups and downs that the family faced.  I thought the book really picked up pace when she was a beginning teenager into a young adult.  This makes sense since it is from her memory of the events.  The relationships (friendship and romantic) were very interesting.  The stories about living aboard in Florida and during a hurricane were especially fascinating.

I found the book to be slow in some parts, even though it is only 246 pages.  I had a hard time getting into the book.

When I first read the synopsis I thought it sounded interesting.  While I did find the book interesting, I figured out I am just not that into living aboard a boat.   The book was ok.

I would give this bookbookmark bookmark bookmark

Leave a Reply

