Halloween Reads

This top ten Tuesday didn’t really seem like something I wanted to write about.  I am a bit burnt out on series.  Instead I am going to talk about the books I will be reading for October and those Halloween books I recommend.

The books I will be reading this October:

Monsters by Ilsa J Bick

Image

This is the final book in the Ashes Trilogy.

Anna Dressed in Blood by Kendare Blake

Image

I purchased this book last year, but saved it until October.  Now is the time.

Sharp Objects by Gillian Flynn

Image

I loved the book Dark Places, but didn’t really enjoy Gone Girl.  This is the only Gillian Flynn book I haven’t read.  I am eager to see what I think of book.

Books I recommend for October:

Paper Valentine by Brenna Yovanoff

Image

A ghost story that isn’t really that scary.  If you need a book light on the scare, check this one out.

And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie

Image

This book is a who done it.  The book is perfect for a rainy, windy October night.

It by Stephen King

Image

This is one creepy read.  It is long though, you have been warned.  Read it and then check out the made for tv movie.  That will really creep you out.  Good luck sleeping after watching Tim Curry as Pennywise the Clown.  You have been warned, again.

The Devil in the White City by Erik Larsen

Image

The bits about the building of the Chicago World’s Fair is interesting, but the serial killer bits are so creepy.

Dark Places by Gillian Flynn

Image

This book is very dark and haunting book.

The Z Was Zapped by Chris Van Allsburg

Image

A little something for the kids.  All the students I have read this book to love it.  It is a tame creepy book.

Do you theme read for Halloween/October?  What did I miss?  I would love some creepy recommendations.  Plus, how many times can I say creepy?  Apparently a lot!

Leave a Reply

