2014 Resolutions

I can’t believe 2014 is already here.  2013 was such an up and down year.   However, before I look back at the year of 2013, I am going to look ahead to 2014.  I am going to list the challenges and resolutions I have in my book life.  At the end I will add a few extra life resolutions.

I have set a Goodreads goal of reading 75 books in 2014.

I would also like to read more children’s fiction books.  It will be important for my job.  I may incorporate some of those reviews into this blog.  I will resovle to read 1 children’s book a month-12 for the year.  Hopefully I will read more, but I am going to start small.

I want to read 5 classic books this year.  I look at some of those classic lists and my list of what I have read is definitely lacking.

I want to reread 5 books this year.  I NEVER reread books.  Most times I feel like I don’t have time.  The problem is I look at my enormous TBR list and figure who has time to reread.  There will never be a perfect time to reread a book, but I am going to just fit them in.

My categories for this year are:

A book that is from a debut author or a first book from an established author.
A book that is non fiction.
A book that is a graphic novel.
A book that is set in the winter.
A book that has been sitting on your shelf for a long time.
A book that takes place in an urban city.
A book that is set at the beach or in a beach community.
A book that is a mystery, thriller, or horror.
A book that is set in the southern United States.
A book that has something to do with a war.
A book that is considered a children’s classic.
A book that has been adapted to a movie.
CHALLENGE: A book that is recommended by someone else.
CHALLENGE: Pick 3 books that have all been published in 2014.

Let’s break this down.  My goals are

75 books total

12 children’s fiction books

5 classics

5 rereads

16 books from my category list

Personal goals:

Pay down more of my debt

Keep in better contact with friends far away

Research and try to finalize my plans for a Masters degree

Cook more, travel more, and live in the moment

What are your resolutions for 2014?  Is there something you are really looking forward to accomplishing in 2014?

Leave a Reply

