Best Books of 2013

It is already 12 days into January.  However, I do want to post something dedicated to the books that I felt were the best.  The survey gave a good idea of most of those book, but I want a list for them.

These are the books I loved in 2013.  It is not just books that were published in 2013, but books I read in 2013.  I couldn’t narrow it down to just ten, and eleven just seemed like a strange number.  So, I decided to add my two favorite picture books from the year.  Then it made thirteen.

13.  Journey by Aaron Becker  journey

There are no words in this book. The book is gorgeous and pulls you in.  It is a great book for kids that have big imaginations.

the dark12. The Dark by Lemony Snickett

I found the book to very clever.  I particularly enjoyed the alternating points of view of the child and the dark.

11. Before I Met You by Lisa Jewell before I met you

I enjoyed the back and forth aspect of the novel between the grandmother and granddaughter.  The story setting of London I really enjoyed, and the time period between the 90’s and the 20’s.

10. Dare You to by Katie McGarry dare you to

The second novel I read by Katie McGarry and I really liked it.  I didn’t think that was possible, especially since I didn’t really care for the character of Beth in Pushing the Limits.  I liked the love story a lot  and I will be reading more from this author.

9. Divergent by Veronica Roth divergent

I was late to the party, but enjoyed the first in the trilogy.  The dystopian novel was fast paced and had an impressive setting of factions.  This showed a promising start.

8. Cinder by Marissa Meyer cinder

The story is based on Cinderella.  That is just a jumping off point for this novel.  I felt like Marissa Meyer was inventive in how she created a story around the theme of Cinderella.  It never felt like just rehashing something we all know, but instead she created something new.

7. Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell fangilr

Fangirl is the type of book that you read and then fell generally in a better mood.  All the themes in the book aren’t light, fluff.  I just felt like I really enjoyed the characters.  The main character is one who tries to keep her head up, even when she is feeling doubtful about the people surrounding her.  Her roommate is a sullen, but conveys so much warmth towards her roommate.  Then there is Levi, who is the most happy, upbeat, and delightful male character I have read in a long time.  I have read one book by Rainbow Rowell and now I can’t wait to get more.

6. Just Listen by Sarah Dessen just listen

The story is not a light read.  The family and high school drama is heavy.  It was heavy, but the romance lifted the story up.  I loved the character of Owen and the incorporation of a love of music.  The family was realistic.  It added a lot to the story.  I ended up really touched by this book.  It was a great surprise.

5. Siege and Storm by Leigh Bardugo siege and storm

More than any other book of the year I got lost in this world.  It was even better than the first book in the series.  It added additional characters, elements, and a rich plot.  I can’t wait to see where the story goes in the next book.

4. My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick my life next door

A sweet, sweet family drama.  It has a bit of depth to it, so it isn’t just a light read.  I loved the romance and relationship in the book.  However, the best part of the book is the family the Garretts.  Huntley Fitzpatrick wrote each family member a bit different.  Plus, the parents relationship was just wonderful.

3. The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky perks of being a wallflower

Charlie is such a fantastic character.  His voice is very distinctive.  I enjoyed the letter format of the book, and the way that the story unfolds as if it is being told to a friend.  A coming of age story that was very engrossing.

2. On the Island by Tracey Garvis Graves on the island

This was an unforgettable love story.  The story is about two people who are stranded on a desert island.  There wasn’t a dull or slow down in the pacing of the story.  The main characters are wonderful.   I wanted to keep reading and reading and reading.

1. Just One Day by Gayle Forman just one day

I was surprised by this novel.  It is described as a love lost, and I figured that the love story would dominate over all.  That wasn’t the case.  It is important to the story.  However, the story of Allyson is a coming of age one.  Her struggles are realistic.  I went with her on her journey to find who she really is.  Another reason this was my favorite of the year are the secondary characters.  Many of the people she meets are just as remarkable as she is.  When I first read the book I liked it, but I didn’t love it.  After awhile it just stayed with me.  I know I must re read this book and give it the five stars it deserves.

What were your favorites of the year?

2 thoughts on “Best Books of 2013

  1. I fell in love with Heather Long’s “Always a Marine” series, Tonya Burrows “Team HORNET” and “Wilde Security” series, and Hayson Manning’s “Wife in Name Only” and “Winning the Boss’ Heart.”

    The most unexpected revelation was debut author Julie Richman’s “Needing Moore” series that reunited college sweethearts after 24 years, via Facebook. “Searching for Moore” and “Moore to Lose” (books 1 & 2) were released in 2013 and “Moore Than Forever” will be released in February 2014. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

Leave a Reply

