That Not So Loving Feeling

Recently I have not been loving what I have been reading.  I don’t think it is a full on reading slump, but more a reading ho-hum feeling.  I have still been reading, but not feeling excited about the books I am reading.  Part of this has to do with the fact that I read some fantastic books last year.  I think January was an excellent month, for me, last year.  For awhile there I felt like I was throwing four and five-star ratings like someone throws beads at Mardi Gras.

Here is how I plan on getting back into the swing of things.

I am reading something I love.  Currently I am re-reading The Hunger Games.  I don’t normally re-read books.  I always feel like I don’t have the time.  However,  I need something that know I love.  So far it hasn’t totally jump started that love, but I am enjoying being back in that world.

I am planning a trip to the bookstore.  I am not a person who buys books often.  In fact, I haven’t bought books in a long time.  I have been using the library a lot, and staying away from the bookstore.  It has helped me continue to pay down debt.  This will be one exception to my book buying halt I have going on.  I want to be able to just browse and grab something that sounds so great to read.  Plus, the library where I live is ok, but doesn’t have a bunch of things I have been wanting to read. Nothing gets you jazzed about reading like a bright, shiny new book.

I am going to be reading a few different kinds of books at the same time.  I normally don’t read a bunch of books at once.  However, I need to hit on that book that I can really get into.  I don’t want to start a book and get stalled.  Then have nothing else to turn to.

The last thing I am doing is taking a break when I need it.  I am reading both books really slow.  If I don’t feel like reading, I am not going to force myself.  I have been in the mood to watch T.V., or talk to friends, or do something else.  If I force myself to read every night, I am only going to loathe whatever I am reading.  No matter how great the book is!

What do you do to get back into reading?  How do you find the next book that will jump start your love for books?

One thought on “That Not So Loving Feeling

  1. I’ve been feeling pretty “meh” about many of the books I’ve been reading lately, as well. We’re currently co-hosting a Lord of the Rings read-along, though, so like, like you, I am re-reading something I really love!

    Also, I tend to turn to classics when I’m getting bored with YA. They’ve stood the test of time, so there’s just a greater percentage that they’re “good” (though that’s a pretty subjective word!). Not that I love all classics. Some of them are “meh” too. 😉

Leave a Reply

