Top Ten Things on my Bookish Wishlist

It seems like the last two months have just been so-so for my reading.  Nothing has wowed me.  This Top Ten Tuesday, hosted by the Broke and the Bookish, has come at just the right time.  These are things I want to see more of, or discover more of.

  • Slow building, realistic romance – I wonder why more authors of series don’t create slow building romance.  This is where writing a series would lend beautifully to this idea.
  • Travel books -books that have more than one setting in the world.  Fiction or non-fiction, I don’t care.  I just want more travel in my life.
  • Real love interests- A bad boy is great and all, but it has been done.  I really enjoyed real love interests.  Some of my favorite male love interests, Levi, Jase Garrett, Owen Armstrong, and Tom, were all nice, good guys.
  • Coming of age stories- I think there have always been coming of age stories.  I just can’t get enough.  More please!
  • Adult road trips- I love to read about road trips.  I think creating a road trip that is based around adults would be fantastic.  It could be a couple, friends, family members, or whatever.  If it is written well, I am down for the ride.
  • Laugh out loud reads- Of course this is hard to define.  So many people find different things funny.  However, it has been a long time since I have felt a novel is really funny.  I am looking at lovable characters that get into some hijinks, except not in the ridiculous way.  I am sure that is clear as mud for all the authors out there.
  • Real Mysteries- I want something with twists and turns, but not just with a hard-edged cop.  A serious mystery that doesn’t have such a serious protagonists.  It may be an oxymoron, but I want it.
  • Well Done Stand Alones or Series that are Ready to Roll-  I am sick of investing so much time in series that are drawn out.  Sometimes to the point of just making some more money off of it.  Make the book a stand alone.  If not a stand alone, have the series plotted out.  Rock out a first book, but have an idea of where the story is going.  Then publish the next books not so far off from the others.  I don’t want to wait forever to find out what happens next, AND the author doesn’t want the reader to lose interest in the series.  Or worse yet forget what was even happening in the series.
  • Real Life Problems-This would include characters facing real world problems.  I want someone who is struggling to pay the bills, or looking for work, or someone struggling to find their place in the world.  Most people don’t find jobs easily, have unlimited funds, or know exactly how they fit.
  • Lovable Cast of Characters-The main character(s) are important.  If the book doesn’t have a good main character, it just won’t cut it for me.  However, have a good main character and add-on a wonderful set of side characters it is a win.  Some of my favorite books of last year have a wonderful addition of well-rounded characters.

What would you like to see more of in literature?

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Things on my Bookish Wishlist

  1. This is a great list! The realistic, slow-burning romance is something we definitely need more of, and it’s how I try to write. And YES to plotting out series beforehand! And of course you can’t go wrong with a lovable cast of characters.

  2. I’ve seen slow building romance on a lot of lists, and I never really realized before how rare that is. Definitely in YA books it’s quick.

    If you’re looking for slow romance and real life problems, AND a little travel, Me Before You by Jojo Moyes might be perfect!

  3. I’ve seen a lot of lists say “Adult road trips” I really like this idea. Not in the Eat Pray Love way, but just in a good adult road trip. Movies can do it, why can’t books.

Leave a Reply

