Ophelia and the Marvelous Boy

Image

Title: Ophelia and the Marvelous Boy

Author: Karen Foxlee

Publisher: Knopf Books for Younger Readers

Published: January 28, 2014

Pages: 242

Series: no

Source: review copy on Netgalley

The Story

A retelling of the Snow Queen.  Ophelia meets a mysterious boy who is trapped while visiting a museum.  He says he is a prisoner of the Snow Queen and he has been waiting for Ophelia to break the curse.  Ophelia must discover her strength and courage.  She has to uncover how to rescue the boy and break the curse.

My Thoughts

The book is a mix of present day Ophelia and a flash back to how the boy was captured.  Ophelia is an unlikely heroine.  She wears glasses, has asthma, and is genuinely interested in science.  I loved that about her.  She had to dig deep to conquer the quests she went on.

I loved the setting.  The town that is covered in snow.  The museum, describes as cold and drafty.  The fun of having Ophelia running around in the museum, even after hours.

I did have a problem with how obvious some of the events of the book were.  I also found the dad to be so absent-minded.  Although he did come around.  The sister was obsessed with beauty and a bit predictable.

The book starts off slow and I thought the flashbacks to the boy, wizards, and his capture were slow as well.  I really enjoyed the parts within present day.  The book is a little bit like a mix of the Snow Queen and Night at the Museum.  That, to me, would be appealing to many kids.  I feel like many kids would enjoy this. Overall it was enjoyable.

I give this book bookmark bookmarkbookmark1/2

One thought on “Ophelia and the Marvelous Boy

  1. I really like Ophelia 😀 She was just such a normal girl with her pragmatic approach of things and her love for science. It was fun to see her change after she meets the Marvelous Boy. I think it’s a perfect book for children, with adventure and exciting monsters 🙂

Leave a Reply

