Is reading too much a bad thing?

I have a confession. I have read almost 50 books already this year and have not rated one of them 5 stars. Sure I rated The Hunger Games trilogy 5 stars, but that was a re-read (so I am not counting it). I don’t know if I am just not picking books that are really resonating with me, if I need to change the types of books, or I am becoming one of those readers that never likes anything. *shudders*

I am hoping that the rest of the year will bring some 5 star books in.

Here are my top 5 books of the year so far.

  • Blankets by Craig Thompsonblankets
  • The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Brackendarkest minds
  • Hopeless by Colleen Hooverhopeless
  • Cress by Marissa Meyercress
  • The Book Thief by Markus Zusakbook thief

 

That brings me to a thought I had the other day.   Is reading too much having a negative effect on me?  All of the books I listed are different than a lot of other books I have read in the past.  I really, really enjoyed them.  So why couldn’t I give them the full five stars?

Do you think reading a lot of books can be a negative?

8 thoughts on “Is reading too much a bad thing?

  1. I’ve played with the same thought, but I don’t think one can read too much, or that reading a lot is a bad thing! If anything, I think reading a lot can help us learn what we like–and make us better at picking out books that we would enjoy. My theory is that blogging (not reading) can get us to the point where we don’t like anything we read. There’s such a temptation to read a book because we got an ARC or because everyone is talking about it. Sometimes, that’s good, and it gets us out of our comfort zone. Other times, though, we just end up reading a bunch of stuff we never would have picked off the shelf at the bookstore for ourselves–because we would have known we probably wouldn’t like it.

    My other theory, though, is that reading a lot does make one more critical, but only because you know when plots (or other books aspects) aren’t original. I’ve read a bunch of fantasy recently I thought was mediocre because it sounded like 20 other fantasy books I’ve read. I think, however, if I had read the same books in the middle school, when I didn’t have so much reading experience and didn’t know the plots and characters were cliche, I might have enjoyed them more because they would have been new to me.

    • I found myself wanting to say “yes that” after reading this. It does change things when you have to divide your time between just picking something to read and having to read things. Whether it be by choice or not, it can make reading stressful. I have to try to be objective when a student asks me what I think of a certain book. I can be harsh on books, because I have read so many in that genre.

      • Oh, yes, recommendations are always tricky! But it’s also a fun challenge to try to think what other people might like.

        Though I have had issues where I recommended, or even gave, a book to a friend and they complained because they saw I’d given the book two stars on Goodreads on something. So they figured I was either giving them a “bad” book or implying they had no taste in literature. No…just because I personally didn’t like something, it doesn’t mean no one else will like it! I don’t suppose you have that problem with students though. They probably don’t stalk you on Goodreads. 😉

        I like to think back to what I liked as a child when I recommend books to younger readers. Then I know, even I’m not overly impressed with the same book upon rereading (though it’s great if I still love it years later!), that it’s probably something that would appeal to them.

      • No my students aren’t stalking me on Goodreads. I wish I could teach them about Goodreads. It is so beneficial for discovering books that are right for you.

        Books are really based on personal preference and can vary depending on when you read it. Interesting people thought you were giving them a bad book.

        Yes, I try my best to think about what kids would enjoy. I think it is extremely difficult for a book to appeal to all ages. So, that means we have to read objectively for kids.

  2. I’ve actually wondered about this too, and somewhat discussed it in a recent post (Reading Since Blogging). I think when you read so much, it is easy to become more critical over time, and it’s harder to become impressed with something in a book when you’ve seen it before. I think as long as you continue to love reading though, I don’t think you can read too much. But if it becomes a chore or duty then it might be best to lay off for a while or to start reading less books. Or, if you don’t switch up genres very often, you can try to keep it fresh by picking up something different, like a memoir or historical non-fiction or poetry or whatever!

    • So true. If it does become a chore or you are dreading it then you should step back for awhile. I don’t feel like that. I think it is just a bit of a concern when you read so much, but nothing is knocking your socks off. The other problem is I do read a lot of different types of books. Instead of focusing on it, I am just trying to go with what I feel like reading for the most part. I am also making a huge effort to get rid of things I am not into, or something that pull me in after 100 pages.

  3. I do think that the more you read, the fewer books you start to like. Just because there are so many books out there; when you start to read more and more, you begin realize they can’t all be fantastic. Plus, you have more books to compare the current book to. At least, that’s what I feel like happened to me!

    But, as long as reading is fun and enjoyable for you, I don’t think there’s such a thing as too much reading. That way, when a book you absolutely love comes to you, it stands out even more among the others. 🙂

    • Yes, if reading becomes not fun then it is time to stop. I figure if you gave up on reading you would never find your next favorite book. I think you said it perfect.

Leave a Reply

