Top Ten Books I Want to Give Readers

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by the Broke and the Bookish. Go check them out!

This weeks Top Ten Tuesday is the top ten books we would most give to readers of x genre.  I decided to break it up into two parts and share the love.  Or push my views on books.  However you want to look at it.

I don’t know about anyone else, but I find these cards so adorable.   I want to buy them and put on all the books in the bookstore/library that I want people to read.  🙂

Check out StudioDMD on Etsy.com

Check out StudioDMD on Etsy.com

Biography/Autobiography

*A good mix of light reads and heavier reads, but great introduction to this genre*

  • The Glass Castle by Jeannette Walls- The hardships faced by the children in this family is unimaginable for most, but the story is a wonderful read.
  • sTori Telling by Tori Spelling – I was surprised by her first autobiography and think it is a great light read.
  • Until Tuesday by Luis Carlos Montalavan – A fantastic book that highlights the struggle some of our service members are going through and the love of a dog.
  • Tip It by Maggie Griffin – I find it very interesting to read from the perspective of a family member of a very polarizing comedian.
  • A Little Bit Wicked by Kristin Chenoweth – I really connected with this autobiography and find I love recommending this book.

Women’s Fiction (aka Chick Lit)

*Books for those that want something different from this genre*

  • The Poisonwood Bible by Barbara Kingsolver – The story of a family growing up in the Belgian Congo.  I love the focus on the females of the story.
  • Walking In Circles Before Lying Down by Merrill Markoe – A weird and wonderful book about a women who can hear her dog talk to her, after her boyfriend leaves her.
  • Before I Met You by Lisa Jewell- A young women discovering herself in the 1990’s and the story of her grandmother in 1920’s.
  • Summer Sisters by Judy Blume- Two girls that are like sisters and their coming of age story.
  • Girl in Translation by Jean Kwok – A beautiful,heart-wrenching story about an immigrant and her daughter.

 

What are your favorite books to recommend?

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Books I Want to Give Readers

  1. I have recently gotten into reading a lot of memoirs. I don’t know what it is, but I just want to read true stories about other people’s lives and experiences. I haven’t read any of these yet, so I will have to add them to my list!
    Thanks for stoppin’ by! Have a great week!

Leave a Reply

