BEA 2014 Recap

Is it too late to talk about BEA? Nah.

 

Here is a quick overview of what happened while I was at Book Expo America.

DSCN0917 DSCN0916

Thursday: I didn’t have a whole bunch of signings planned for today.  I just wanted to get my bearings of the layout and how the event was going to be held.  I just went along and visited some booths.  I then made sure to make my way over to Lauren Oliver signing.  After waiting in line for so long the signing started.  Myself and a few people were told we would probably be the cut off for books, and odds are we wouldn’t get one.  Three people in front of me left, but I decided to chance it since I had waited for a long time already.  It ended up working out, and I was so glad.  I then went to eat lunch and catch up on my messages.  I happened to be sitting there and notice Jane Lynch walk by.

So, I made sure to get in her line.  A few kids were in line for her signing.  They kept squealing every time we rounded a corner and they saw her.  It was really cute.  I ended the day by attending a panel for graphic novels.

DSCN0914

Michael Cho, Jules Feiffer, and moderator Calvin Reid

DSCN0915

Raina Telgemeier and Farel Dalyrymple

 

Friday:  I started this day off by attending the Children’s Author Breakfast.  I really enjoyed this event.  The person I really liked the most was Mem Fox.  I hadn’t really heard of her before, but I thought she was delightful.  Just like Jason Segel said something along the line of “I want Mem Fox to be my honorary grandmother”.

DSCN0925

Jason Segel and Carl Hiaasen

DSCN0924

Mem Fox

DSCN0926

 

 

 

 

 

I was on a mission to get a copy of Landline.  I made sure to be at the booth about 10 mins before 11.  There was some miscommunication and the line was moved somewhere else, even after I had asked a few times if I was in the right spot.  It ended up OK and I did get a copy.  Success!  *Landline is not pictured, because it has been read already and was sent off to my sister and aunt to read*  I then just was walking around.  I didn’t really have much to do until the Morgan Matson signing.  So I just went and got in line.  I am glad I did, since that line ended up being really long.  I just chatted with people in line and they were lovely, so it worked out.

Saturday: (Otherwise know as BookCon or otherwise know as chaos)  I know this has been said before, but BookCon was crazy.  I was attending the event with my sister and aunt.  They only had the one day pass, so they were told to get in line somewhere else (in a parking garage area).  I got in the BEA line.  I walked through the BEA side, they had it separated off, and it was so calm.  I made my way to the other side to find my sister and aunt.  That side was utter chaos!!  I finally found them.  We tried to get in line for book signings.  The Alexandra Bracken line-CRAZY.  There was nowhere for anyone to go to wait.  So people just stood around blocking the aisles. This angered the workers and they refused to start a line.  We only made it for a while and then I just couldn’t do it anymore.  I had such a bad headache and it was too crazy for my liking.  We made the decision to head back to the hotel room.  I really hope that they change how that was planned.  It was too small of a space for that many people.  It was clear whoever planned it did not care about the people attending, just sad.

 

The books I received.

IMG_0219       Lets Get Lost by Adi Alsaid (due out July 29, 2014) This one is just a little sampler (boo, hiss). However, I do really want to read this.

        Never Fade by Alexandra Bracken (already released) I feel like I went to battle to get this one during BookCon.  I did already read it and really enjoyed it.

Black Ice by Becca Fitzpatrick (due out October 7, 2014)

The Fine Art of Pretending by Rachel Harris (due out September 30, 2014)

Burn for Burn by Jenny Han and Siobhan Vivian (already released)

Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson (already released) I can’t wait to read this one.

Rooms by Lauren Oliver (due out September 23. 2014) Another one I can’t wait to read.

  The Darkest Part of the Forest by Holly Black (due out January 13, 2015)

 

IMG_0220

The Croc Ate My Homework by Stephan Pastis (already published)

 Big Nate Great Minds Think Alike by Lincoln Pierce (already published)

Skink No Surrender by Carl Hiaasen (due out September 23, 2014)

  Island Hunters The Backyard Pirate Adventure by NE Walford (no date listed)

Desmond Pucket and the Mountain Full of Monsters by Mark Tatulli (August 5, 2014)

Nightmares By Jason Segel and Kristen Miller (September 9, 2014)

 

 


IMG_0224

Circle Square Moose by Kelly Bingham  (due out September 23, 2014)  I loved the first one (Z is for Moose) and I can’t wait to read this one.

Dear Bully of Mine by Vicki Fraser (already published)

Baby Bedtime by Mem Fox (due out August 26, 2014)

Princess Gabby Girl by Camille Battaglia and Karen Wolcott (already published)

Sam and Dave Dig a Hole by Mac Barnett and Jon Klassen (due out October 14, 2014)

 

 

 

 

IMG_0225

Saga Volume 1 by Brian K Vaughn and Fiona Staples (already released)

Rat Queen by Kurtis J Wiebe and Roc Upchurch (already released)

Lazarus Volume 1 Family by Greg Rucka and Michael Lark (already released)

 

Leave a Reply

