Sisters by Raina Telgemeier

SistersTitle: Sisters

Author: Raina Telgemeier

Publisher: Scholastic

Published: August 26, 2014

Pages: 211 pages

Series: Yes (Smile book #2)

Source: Book received through Netgalley for review

The Story

Raina has always wanted a little sister.  Her dreams come true when her parents have Amara.  Except Amara isn’t exactly what Raina was expecting.

My Thoughts

I hadn’t read Smile before.  In fact I had not read anything from Raina Telgemeier before.  I saw her speak during Book Expo America this year, and I really wanted to change that.  When I had the chance to review her newest book Sisters, I jumped at it.

I was immediately pulled into the story of two sisters with very different personalities.  The story has a road trip from San Francisco to Colorado. The story does go back and forth from present day to when Raina was younger. I felt like the scenes that tell what it is like to be crammed into a car with siblings, were just spot on.  I really liked how each character had a unique voice and the family members shared the spotlight of this book.  The other thing I truly enjoyed, was the fact that the book talks about fun pop culture items from the 80’s.  Will kids enjoy this part? No, but it adds that something extra to pull in adult readers.

There isn’t anything over the top, or really dramatic, just a fantastic story of a family.  The story does have some depth to it, and that comes to light at the end of the story.  This is just another element that readers may identify with. I was hooked from the first page to the last.  I honestly loved this book. I made sure to order it for my library.  I think this is a must have book!

I would give this book

bookmark bookmarkbookmarkbookmark

1/2

Leave a Reply

